NisiOisin Novel Characters Appear in Crossover Monogatari Novel

Characters from various NisiOisin novels will appear in a new crossover book that Kodansha Box will publish. The short novel collection, titled Mazemonogatari (Mix Story), will be the first time that characters from other NisiOisin stories appear in the Monogatariseries.

NisiOisin is best known for writing the Monogatari and Zaregoto Series, both of which have been adapted into anime. He is also the author of the Boukyaku Tantei series, KatanagatariJūni Taisen, and other novels and short stories. The cover of Mazemonogatari shows 13 female characters from various NisiOisin works and features art by Monogatari series character designer Akio Watanabe.

The book is based on three short novels NisiOisin wrote that were given out to viewers of the Japanese theater release of the Kizumonogatari film trilogy. Those novels were divided into 12 chapters, with each chapter being given out to theater goers on a different week as a bonus item. In the bonus novels, characters from NisiOisin stories appear as guests and pay a visit to Monogatari protagonist Koyomi Araragi.

For the collected version of the short novels, NisiOisin has written three extra chapters, bringing the total number of chapters up to 15. The characters featured in the stories include: Kyoko Okitegami Boukyaku Tantei series); Jun Aikawa, Iori Mutō, and Shiogi Hagihara (Zaregoto Series); Nomi Chinō (Densetsu series); Mayumi Dojima (Bishōnen series); Kuroneko Byōinzaka (Sekai series); Risuka Mizukura (Shin Honkaku Mahō Shōjo Risuka); Princess Hitei (Katanagatari); and others.

Mazemonogatari will hit Japanese bookstores on February 6, 2019. The first printing of the deluxe edition will also come with a “special bromide.”

A crossover four-panel manga drawn by Shibamochi titled Seishun Kijinden! 240 Gakuen (Legend of Eccentric Youth! 240 Academy) launched in 2017, although it ended last November.

Source: LN-News